Canada’s Provincial Flowers


Just like every state in the good ol’ US of A has a state flower, so does each province of Canada! Here’s a list of all provincial flowers in Canada compliments of Knight’s Canadian Info Collection:

British Columbia: Pacific Dogwood


The Pacific dogwood (Cornus nuttallii) became British Columbia’s floral emblem in 1956. The Pacific dogwood is a type of tree that flowers in April and May and is known for its bright red berries and brilliant foliage in autumn.

Alberta: Wild Rose


The Wild Rose or the Prickly Rose is a member of the rose family (Rosaceae).  It became Alberta’s official floral emblem in 1930.

Saskatchewan: Western Red Lily


The western red lily was chosen as the official flower of Saskatchewan in 1941. The western red lily is a protected species in Canada.

Manitoba: Prairie Crocus bouquets

The lavender coloured prairie crocus was chosen to be Manitoba’s flower by children in 1906. It blooms very early in the spring, sometimes even before all the snow has melted.

Ontario: Trillium

Credit: Sean Dreilinger

In 1937, Ontario chose Trillium (Trilliium grandiflorum) as their provincial flower. It is called the trillium because it has three petals and three leaves. The “tri-“ is Greek for three.

Quebec: Blue Flag Iris


In 1999 Quebec chose the blue flag iris as their provincial flower, which grows across Quebec.

New Brunswick: Purple Violet


The purple violet was chosen as New Brunswick’s provincial flower in 1936.

Nova Scotia: Mayflowertulips

The Mayflower has been Nova Scotia’s flower since 1901. It symbolizes Nova Scotia’s survival throughout its long turbulent history.

Prince Edward Island: Lady Slipper

bouquetsPEI adopted the Lady Slipper on April 25, 1947. The orchid gets its name from the shape of its petals which look somewhat like a slipper.

Newfoundland and Labrador: Pitcher Plantplants*Image compliments of the CBC

Since 1954, the pitcher plant has been Newfoundland and Labrador’s provincial flower. The Pitcher Plant is carnivorous, trapping insects in their gourd-like structures after water has accumulated in them.

Yukon Territory: Fireweedroses*Image compliments of Joshua Michael Hill

The Yukon chose the fireweed as its floral emblem in 1957.  The fireweed got its name because it is one of the first plants to grow after a fire.

Northwest Territories: Mountain Avens


The Northwest Territories selected the mountain avens as its Provincial flower in 1957. This short, white flower with small leaves can grow in high, rocky ground.

Nunavut: Purple Saxifrage

bouquetsNunavut adopted the Purple Saxcifrage as its Provincial flower in 2000. It is a small, bright-purple flower that grows like a mat over rocks and gravel.


Your friends at Flower Blog

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Leave a Reply